How do I use DVC with SSH remote

Q: I’m just getting started with DVC, but I’d like to use it for multiple developers to access the data and share models and code.

I do own the server, but I’m not sure how to use DVC with SSH remote?

A: There’s now an official guide that incorporates a lot of this info thanks to @jorgeorpinel: SSH & SFTP. . But also feel free to read the full thread.

More context to this question and original versions are here.

1 Like

There’s also now an official guide that incorporates a lot of this info thanks to @jorgeorpinel: SSH & SFTP.

A: SSH is a protocol to connect/logging to a remote computer, and it is commonly used to execute commands or transfer files on a remote machine.

For that to work, you’ll need an SSH client and a server. You can type ssh -V on your terminal to see if you have the client already installed (normally included in OSX or Linux distributions), if you are on windows, the most used client is PuTTY

Now, on the computer that you want to reach, you should have the SSH server, usually sshd (or SSH Daemon), if you are running an operative system with systemd you can check if it is running by executing on the remote server systemctl status sshd (and it should say “Active”).

If everything went well, and you have both, a client on your computer and a server on the other computer that you want to connect to, you can use the client (either ssh or putty by specifying the address of the remote machine - an IP or hostname that resolves to the desire destination).

DVC needs to know the same information in order to establish a connection, and the way you configure it is by using the remote add/modify command. Let’s say that we are using the following configurations:

hostname/ip: example.com
user: mroutis
password: 123456789
port: 22

So the way I can configure the SSH remote with DVC will be the following:

dvc remote add --default ssh-storage ssh://example.com/path/to/storage
dvc remote modify ssh-storage user mroutis