How do I get the remote url of my local files?

Hi everyone.

I set up two remote storage locations (one for data storage and another for model storage) and examining them today, I managed to dvc push all my files to both locations. My intention was to specify for each file the remote location it should go to, not have all of them in both.

1. How can I check the remote storage location of a file? Since each file is saved in two locations, I am assuming the dvc file is connected to only one location, but I have been unable to confirm which one.
  2. How can I properly clean up my remote storage so each file is stored only once in one of the two remote storage locations.

I am new to dvc so would appreciate any input. Thanks!

How can I check the remote storage location of a file?

You can use dvc get --show-url from the command line and dvc.api.get_url from the Python API to get the remote URL for files. Note that dvc get --show-url will only show the URL for your default remote, but the path for other remotes will be the same.

So if get --show-url path/to/repo path/to/file returns something like:

s3://models-remote/c8/d307aa005d6974a8525550956d5fb3

You can replace the first part of the URL with other remotes as needed, i.e. that file would also be stored in:

s3://data-remote/c8/d307aa005d6974a8525550956d5fb3

Please refer to the docs for more details:

Since each file is saved in two locations, I am assuming the dvc file is connected to only one location, but I have been unable to confirm which one.

The .dvc file does not associate data with any specific remote by default. Data can be pushed and pulled to any remote, but commands like dvc push and dvc pull will use whichever remote you have configured as the default unless you specify a specific remote to use with the -r/--remote flags.