"dvc status" confusion in concurrent use case

Dear DVC community,

I am currently about to develop a data repository based on GIT+DVC. I am new to DVC, hence might still overlook things.

Let us assume to have the following repository after having cloned the GIT repo and pulled everything via DVC.

repo1
|- data_file1
|- data_file1.dvc
|- data_file2
|- data_file2.dvc

Now, another user of the repository has meanwhile cloned & dvc pulled the repository in an identical way to a directory repo2 (on a different machine, i.e. no cache issues, here). But that user has modified data_file2, followed by all that is necessary to push these changes to the GIT repo and DVC remote storage (in autostage mode, this is: dvc add data_file2, git commit, git push, dvc push). At the end, that user will have

repo2
|- data_file1
|- data_file1.dvc
|- data_file2         <- different to repo1
|- data_file2.dvc     <- different to repo1

which will also be the latest version on the server.

Now, as a common habit, the first user with his repo1 directory will do a “git pull” and will have

repo1
|- data_file1
|- data_file1.dvc
|- data_file2      <- as originally present in repo1
|- data_file2.dvc  <- as uploaded by the second user, i.e identical to repo2

If this first user issues

dvc status data_file2.dvc

it will get with my dvc version 2.11.0 this output

data_file2.dvc:                                                 
	changed outs:
		not in cache:       data_file2

which is understandable (but still somewhat misleading), as indeed data_file2, as uploaded from repo2, is not in the local cache. If the first user then issues

dvc status --remote myremote

where myremote is the remote used by both users, the result is

deleted:            data_file2

This is however now confusing, as on the remote, the file was changed, but not deleted.

Am I missing something here?