Dvc_api.get_url is not working with external data

Hello,
I’m fairly new to DVC. I would like to explain my set up first and then seek help to make best use of DVC.

My Setup:

• I want to use DVC to track and version external data. The data is large in size(~500GB+ currently) and Located on a NAS server which can be accessed with SSH. I’m referring to manage external data tutorial

• I want to create a Data Registry with all of my external data and share it with multiple users to avoid multiple copies of the data using shared cache as explained in ‘How to share external Cache’

The steps I Followed

1. On my local machine inside a git tracked directory, Created a DVC workspace with dvc_init.
  2. Configured a remote directory as dvc remote, let’s say at ssh://server/home/temp_registry
  3. Created a external cache in ssh://server/home/temp_registry/temp_cache as stated in manage external dataset
  4. I kept a folder named 'Dogs' at dvc remote, this folder has 2 subfolders, and 2 text files, each subfolders having some images. From my local machine used dvc add --external ssh://server/home/temp_registry/Dogs/. to add the external data under dvc tracking.
  5. timely commited .dvc/config to the gitlab repo from my local machine.

The output I got:

1. A Dogs.dvc file was created on my local machine, which was commited to gitlab
  2. In cache directory under ssh://server/home/temp_registry/temp_cache, I found the cached files.

The exploration:
I tried to use python api on my local machine to fetch the url of the dvc remote/Dogs folder.
I used
dvc.api.get_url(path='Dogs.dvc', repo='gitlab_repo/project_name.git', rev=temp_registry_branch')

Expected output was the URL pointing to the Dogs dir, instead I received the error saying dvc.exceptions.OutputNotFoundError: Unable to find DVC file with output 'Dogs.dvc'

Now the questions:

1. Is my approach of creating data registry using external data management techniques correct? and is it advisable to use DVC in such a way?