Trying to understand data storage

Hi, I am a newcomer to DVC. I read through the tutorial for Data and Model Versioning, and I want to understand how data is stored.

Specifically, say I pull from my remote storage 1000 images, and add 1000 images to create a new dataset of 2000 images. If I dvc add the new data folder and dvc push, how is it stored in remote? Is it like 1000 images (original folder), and then add 1000 images, or is it 1000 images, and then a folder with 2000 images? The reason for the confusion is because at Get Started: Data Versioning (7:54), it shows that there are 2 folders in the remote google drive. I want to know this because I am a ML engineer for a computer vision company and we would have huge datasets, so we don’t want any duplicates across versions.

Furthermore, if I do a dvc checkout to a previous version (1000 images) of the dataset in my local, do 1000 images just disappear from my newer dataset (2000 images). I see this happen in the above video, where dvc checkout with a previous data/data.xml.dvc causes the data to be 36M instead of 72M. How exactly does dvc do this switch so quickly, and does it work for a folder of images vs just a single xml files?

Sorry if these are stupid questions, I am completely new to this.

1 Like

Hello @lpk!

DVC saves the files in the cache/remote under their respective checksums.
If file gest changed, and we add it again - it will be added to cache as new file because its checksum also changed. So new files in cache for same dataset will be only then when you either add new data or modify existing ones. In your use case we will store altogether 2000 images in the cache (assuming they are not duplicated).