Processing data in place

Hi I’m new to dvc (nice project!)
We have a larger dataset and have several preprocessing scripts.
These scripts alter data in place.
It seems when I try to register it with dvc run it complains about cyclic dependencies (input is the same as output).
I would assume this is a very common use case.
What is the best practice here ?
Tried to google around but i did not see any solution to this (besides creating another folder for the output).

1 Like

Hi @nikste!
The usual workflow that our users take, is to produce the output folder and write processed data there. The reason for that is replacing existing data might result in preventing the user from reproducing the results. And DVC was created in order to make sure that users will be able to reproduce their results.
Why would you like to overwrite your data?

HI @Paffciu, thanks for your quick answer!
you would delete the input folder again, following the input output folder approach ?

Well, thinking about Git, i would not store a different file for an input and output source file either if the code changes. There is only one file to be used and git keeps track of changes.
I would expect a dataset to be the same and dvc providing me the capability of rolling back to past states without needing to change any folder names.

Consider the case i have multiple downstream algorithms that want to work with the dataset.
They expect a certain structure for the data.
I have some other process that continuously improves the data (different scripts that improves annotations in some automatic way / maybe some humans labelling pixel wise segmentations).
Using a new folder after each change seems a bit counter intuitive to me. It seems I’d need to manually tell the downstream algorithms that the folder structure changed.

Maybe I’m missing something here, or misusing dvc here?