Best practices for collaborating with DVC

Hello all!

I am new to dvc and I am trying to figure out how to fit it into our workflows.

The first use case that I am trying to figure out is collaborating on building a dataset, particularly with trainees or collaborators of unknown skill. (Imagine we are all working on labelling new data).

What are best practices for reviewing the trainees work before allowing them to do a dvc push?

Currently we use gitlab UI to require merge reviews for all code changes, and this allows me to visually inspect all changes before allowing a merge. What is the equivalent for dvc?

Thanks for any input!

2 Likes

Hi @jshube

So you are reviewing every label? And may I ask how do these labels look? Are they stored in the same data files or separate, what format is used, are they tracked by Git or DVC?

Thanks

Thanks for your reply.

I may not review every label. Perhaps closer review to start and then tapering off as trust increases. I think my primary concern isnt label quality. I think my primary concern is preventing accidental data tampering / deletion and general repository mucking.

Like I would like to know a summary of what a contributor has done before allowing them to perform a dvc push. Doesnt need to be the content of the files, maybe just changed file names and changed directories.

To answer your other questions: These labels are in the metaheader image format (a medical image format), and they are in their own data files that are currently all being tracked by DVC.

1 Like

I see. dvc push is a remote storage operation, and DVC doesn’t implement any kind of access control for this. It’s left to the storage provider (e.g. IAM profiles for Amazon S3 storage). In general this means users can either always push (and possibly gc), or they never can — so it’s not really linked to the Git flow/ review process.