Advice for versioning many many small files?

Hello! I’m new to DVC :slight_smile:
I was working on versioning a large dataset (totaling ~140gb) which consists of many many very small files. They are mp3 audio files (imagine for training a speech model), each for example 100-200kb (they’re only 5-15 seconds each on average). This means I’ve got a lot of files of course

I ran dvc push and let it run for ~16 hours before realizing this probably isn’t a great idea, since it seemed like it was nowhere near completion, and cancelled the run. I found a couple links online telling me dvc isn’t ideal for many small files, but I also found a comment from a dvc maintainer on this forum saying recent changes (that post was ~apr 2020) should improve performance for dvc push on many small files – Would anyone be able to advise me? Did I possibly do something wrong, or should I be rolling these files into a tar, zip, etc and versioning that? Wouldn’t it make more sense to version individual data files? (I’m new to working with data too :upside_down_face:)

Help would be really appreciated! Thanks

1 Like

Hi @uzair !

Could you show output for dvc doctor, please?

hey @kupruser thanks for offering help! sorry for the late response, here’s the output of dvc doctor:

DVC version: 1.9.1 (pip)

Platform: Python 3.8.5 on Linux-5.4.0-58-generic-x86_64-with-glibc2.29
Supports: http, https, s3, ssh

Thank you :slight_smile:

Hi @uzair!

What type of remote are you using? Did you check, by any chance, how much time would transferring your data take using other tool?

hi @Paffciu !

Honestly, I have not checked. However, according to speedtest I have 900Mbps/112.5MBps upload speed, and so if I’m not mistaken that should take 24ish minutes for just the raw data, although I understand there would be a cap when uploading to the remote probably (s3 in my case), establishing connections, etc etc.