Using DVC for end-to-end pipeline

HI,

I am trying to create an end-to-end pipeline ( I am new to it … ), and trying to use dvc as well.

I have create 5 script corresponding to each phase

1. preprocessing
  2. 1st Feature engineering
  3. train-test data splite
  4. 2nd Feature engineering
  5. Model training
    I could do 'dvc run bla bla bla ’ for each program file. and I could reproduce the result.

However if I would like to re-run the “WHOLE” pipeline after I have twitched something, is there any “best practice” or recommendation or guide line (e.g. use shell script to wrap up all ‘dvc run’ commands and run it ? use dvc run -d xx.data -d yy.data … -d fe1.py -d fe2.py -d main.py …, to run a very bulky command to make a dvc file ? ) ?

and. … do creating separate script for each phase a good idea to manage the pipeline ?

Looking forward for answer ! Many thanks !

Best Regards,
Solomon Leung

1 Like

Hi @solomonleung !

So your pipeline consists of only 5 stages(i.e. 5 dvc runs), right? dvc repro 5.dvc would look through all of the dependency stages(1.dvc … 4.dvc) and reproduce anything that has changed, effectively re-running the whole pipeline. You can also force re-running by adding a --force flag to dvc repro command. We also have -P|--all-pipelines option for dvc repro that will reproduce all pipelines present in your project. Please feel free to correct me, if I didn’t get your scenario right :slight_smile:

Yes, it is a recommended way of organizing your pipeline, so each dvc run has its own script to run that is corresponding to the action(e.g. preprocess, train, etc). :slight_smile:

Thanks,
Ruslan

1 Like

Hi @kupruser

If I have created a “config.py” and “util.py” scripts and every phrase of my script reference to it.

1. do I need to declare dependency with config.py and util.py for each dvc run ?
  2. If I make changes on util.py (e.g. add a new class which be used in final phase … ) would the whole pipeline re-run … ?